WBAL.com under malware attack

UPDATE: it appears to be fixed now.

As a way of background, I currently work in IT and I’ve worked in it off and on for the past 12 years or so.

I went to WBAL.com (the website of WBAL 1090 AM) last night and everything on the main page looked fine. I clicked on a story link and got a PDF that froze my browser. I didn’t think much of it until this morning when I went to the site and the same thing happened. This time the PDF it opened was a link on howareubro.com and contained a line of what appeared to be gibberish. I’m not sure if it was something in hex or if it was supposed to be l33t-speak.

Anyway, if you get any messages about installing software or downloading anything or any other action that’s not normal for wbal.com when you go to their site – say no. You may want to even avoid their site for awhile – we’ll let you know when it’s back to normal.

I found resources on howareubro.com via a note about a previous attack on Ecademy as well as people twittering about it.

UPDATE: it appears to be fixed now.

1 Comment »

  1. 1

    This is usually a symptom of having spyware/malware installed on your computer, not a symptom of the website being infected. It’s common when installing certain kinds of file sharing and/or toolbar software.

    Comment by John J. — February 9, 2009 @ 11:52 am

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Leave a comment



badge/news.win.jpg

Connect to ICC

Latest Tweet from @insidecharmcity

RSS & Social Media

Enter your email address to subscribe to our Daily Update:

Delivered by FeedBurner

News Links


MD Bloggers

 

Archives

Monthly

Authors

Categories